5 Things I learned in 5 Years of living in Pakistan

tutor on the road- Jersey to pakistan

When I made the decision to move to the notorious land called Pakistan because of my husband’s job, there were mixed reactions from the community (to say the least). My non-Pakistani, non-Muslim friends were terrified for my safety and were keen on reminding me of the short list of freedoms and long list of restrictions soon to be imposed.  As for the Pakistani-American communities, their concerns involved my husband’s salary, the tough humidity and the eternal inconvenience of load-shedding.  Ignoring all concerns, I decided to take on the adventure and assured my friends that I was happy and ready for anything! Boy did I lie. I was terrified- but very much in love.

  1. I had been living in the American Bubble

As Americans, we value our privacy, our personal space, our neatly scheduled routines and our mood swings.  After struggling through some awkward social encounters and unannounced guests coming to…

View original post 1,379 more words

About Shahid Hussain Raja

An independent consultant with specialization in agriculture sector policies, food security, civil service and governance reforms, capacity building of senior government officers and prosecution of high profile corruption cases in developing countries.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

